News & Events

UCT Honours Programme Director – 20 January 2017

Alphose Zingoni, Programme Director & Professor of Structural Engineering and Mechanics in the Department of Civil Engineering at UCT, was honoured with a Fellowship of the University of Cape Town at the University Graduation Ceremony of 20 December 2016. UCT Fellowships are awarded for original, distinguished academic work. For full story, see:

Induction Dinner – 17 February 2016

A dinner function held on 17 February at the Jonkershuis Restaurant in Constantia saw the induction of 10 new scholars into the Klaus-Jürgen Bathe Leadership Programme, bringing to 26 the total number of UCT undergraduate students now enrolled in the Programme. The new recipients were: Emma Green (Humanities), Fatima Docrat (Commerce), Tafadzwa Kwaramba (EBE), Natalie Mangondo (EBE), Naledi Masilo (Humanities), Kolosa Ntombini (Science), Ryan Prithraj (Humanities), Mathew Saunders (Commerce), Nkululeko Tsoketsi (Commerce) and Carla Wilby (EBE).

Hosted by the Programme Director, Prof. Alphose Zingoni, and the Programme Founder, Prof. Klaus-Jürgen Bathe, the induction dinner was attended by all 26 scholars, the Executive Director of the Department of Alumni and Development, Dr. Russell Ally, the Vice-Rector of Stellenbosch University, Prof. Arnold Schoonwinkel, as well as several other guests.

Guest speaker Mr. Simon Mantell, founder of the premium biscuit brand, Mantelli’s,  challenged the scholars to seize opportunities and make a difference in transforming the fortunes of the country. The new scholars were each presented with a certificate and a copy of Prof. Bathe’s book “To Enrich Life”. It was a lively evening as the scholars shared their experiences and pledged their commitment to helping the country and the continent towards a more prosperous future.

Inaugural Dinner - 19 February 2015
A dinner to inaugurate the 16 new scholars of the Klaus-Jürgen Bathe Leadership Programme was held at the Vineyard Hotel in Newlands on 19 February 2015. The event was hosted by the the Programme Donor, Professor Klaus-Jürgen Bathe of Massachusetts, USA, and the Programme Director, Professor Alphose Zingoni of the Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment at the University of Cape Town. Read the full article.

Programme Launch - 20 November 2014
On 20 November 2014, Vice-Chancellor Dr Max Price awarded certificates to 16 recipients of scholarships of the Bathe Leadership Programme, established at UCT in March 2014 through the first part of a grant by Professor Klaus-Jürgen Bathe of Massachusetts (USA). Read the full article.

Back row: Gifton Lamola (Commerce), Matthias Schulz (EBE), Ryan Hudson (EBE), Amy Booth (Health Sciences), Jacqualine van Zyl (Humanities), Thembelihle Zulu (Commerce), Namhla Mabombo (EBE), Mogamat Salie (Humanities), Irfan Habib (Science); Front row: Nozipo Gwaza (EBE), Felicity Seragie (Programme Administrator), Ziyanda Kebeni (Science), Keabetswe Skee (EBE), Prof Alphose Zingoni (Programme Director), Dr Max Price (Vice-Chancellor), Dr Russell Ally (Executive Director of the Department of Alumni and Development), Ruqaya Gabier (Health Sciences), Nhlonipho Khanye (Commerce), Kamohelo Mabogwane (Humanities), Morategi Kale (Humanities).